Whole Foods, East Houston between Bowery and Chrystie

Damp-haired guy, just off work in a trench coat, button-down, and tie.  On his cell phone in the express check-out line carrying a basket full of groceries.

Guy: (serious, sotto voce) Just tell me what’s wrong.

Pause.

Are you mad at me for getting the sea bass?

Pause.

You’re not going to eat it, are you.

Pause.

I can tell that you’re not.

Pause.

What are you going to do to me, then?

Pause.

Pause.

Fine.  I’ll find out when I get home.

He snaps his phone shut.

Published in: on May 28, 2009 at 11:29 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://madeleinegeorge.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/whole-foods-east-houston-between-bowery-and-christie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I so look forward to new entries– your concept was just too cool not to steal once and a while!

    • Steal! Steal! It’s hardly my concept, anyway…

  2. I just discovered you today… your plays i stumbled across and fell in love with.. and this site is crazy inspiring… for someone who ALWAYS says “I am NOT a writer”, your site makes me feel like I am FULL of ideas.. thank you for waking up all this crazy awsome shit in me!

    • Such a lovely comment! Thanks for responding–always good to hear that someone is full of ideas!


Leave a Reply

